First flight

November 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

Here’s another image from Gooseplay, the children’s book I’m illustrating for my uncle Ben about a boy’s adventure with a migrating flock of geese in British Colombia.

It’s rare to be able to post process work when you’re doing a book, so I’m glad to have the chance to do so here because I learn a lot from putting images online. It allows me to see them in a new light, which is difficult when you’ve been looking at the same thing all day and you’re acting as your own art director.

This image of the boy’s first flight is what I suspect will be used for the cover. It doesn’t feel done but that’s enough for today. Below this is my original “sketch” as explained in the last Gooseplay post, from when we first started this project seven years ago (before I was an illustrator).   Click images to enlarge

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First flight at Aimée Sketchblog.

meta

