One year Montreal…

October 6, 2011 § 3 Comments

There’s something about the fall that makes a person nostalgic no matter what the situation. One year ago today I left Montreal, the city where I lived from age 20 to 30, a place that influenced (and continues to influence) who I am as a person and what I do creatively.

I have a really bad memory for names, books, movies, geography etc. but when I draw something I will always remember it for the rest of my life. When I see it again it’s like an old friend. Here are the collection of sketches I did before leaving the city, of some of my favourite little random spots. Montreal, like any city, is always changing and a few of these places already aren’t around anymore. I’m thankful that I took the time to draw them when I did. Drawn on location with pen & ink in watercolour molskine (so good, so expensive), coloured with watercolour at home. Enjoy!

In ascending order:

Riddell Fishing & Tackle shop (Mile End)
Bain St-Michel (Mile End – and that’s Snailhouse performing)
Wilensky’s (Mile End)
Lave Auto 5 Minutes (Plateau)
Élite Suede (NDG)
De Gaspé, close to Bernard (Mile End – my last stinky studio is there somewhere in the distance)
Wheel Club / Old Time Country Music Club of Canada (NDG)
La Maison de l’Aspirateur (Mile End)
J.R. Comptant (NDG)
Nouveau Palais (Mile End)

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to One year Montreal…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One year Montreal… at Aimée Sketchblog.

meta

